Daily Archives: June 2, 2016

My Heart

I had planned on having all of the posts written on our trip to Ecuador by now. However life had other plans. We got home from the airport late Saturday night. On Sunday, we picked Bitty up from the cat hotel he had been staying at. Six weeks earlier, Bitty hadn’t been doing well. The vet cautioned that it could be the c-word. Deep in my heart I knew it was cancer. Despite Andy saying I shouldn’t jump the gun, I knew it.

Bitty hadn’t been eating that much the days before we left. I felt horrible leaving him but at the cat hotel he would have great care. Or so I thought. He was in his carrier when we arrived and we quickly exchanged pleasantries with the owner and then left. The owner assured us that Bitty had been doing very well and had eaten all of his food which meant he consumed 3 small cans of Fancy Feast each day. When Bitty got out of his carrier, I knew this was a lie. Bitty had lost weight while we were gone and looked horrible. And worse, he was limping.

Andy made him a vet appointment while I was at work on Wednesday (Monday was Memorial Day). The vet was prepared to rescan his belly with the ultrasound. The last time, they found a small ‘lesion’ that we all assumed was cancer. This time the lesion was gone! But in preparing him for the scan, the vet had found a mass on his chest. They did an X-Ray and found another mass in his lungs. They didn’t X-Ray his shoulder or hurt leg because it was apparent that the cancer had spread.

 

920887_10151645944249121_7796107_o1078675_10151625179104121_1114870997_o

How are we supposed to say goodbye to him?