Shamrock 15k

Last Sunday I ran my first Shamrock run. In all of the years I’ve lived in Portland, I’ve never run it! It’s the largest running event in Portland with over 30,000 participants. This year, runners could choose from a half marathon, 15k, 8k, and 5k. There were also a few walking events as well. My company pays for employee entry into the event so I thought why not!

IMG_2024

I’ve been working on my speed this year with great success. To be honest, my speed in recent years was so slow, any gains seem pretty amazing. After several years of non-stop training seasons, I took most of last year off. I ran only a few races and that was due to prior commitments or friends roping me in.

As mentioned, I’ve been running to work a few days a week. And it’s been a fast amazing run. Shamrock 15k course runs up a Terwilliger Blvd. which is a slow steady hill. I’ve run up the hill many times but honestly I don’t enjoy road running as much as trail running. So I went to Forest Park and used various trails including Firelane 1 to train.

I also have been using DailyBurn to do cross training. Honestly I cannot praise DailyBurn enough. But I will leave that to another post. And I’ve been doing a lot of yoga after hard workouts. I’m trying to be a lot smarter about training. But sometimes, I’m just kinda stupid.

The night before Shamrock, I stayed out WAY too late and drank too much. 🙂 I got about 4-5 hours of sleep and was dehydrated when I woke up. If the run was longer or the weather was warmer, I would have been in trouble.

IMG_2025

Pre-race

 

It was rainy. I mean really rainy. It wasn’t so bad at the beginning of the race but by mile 4 my jacket sleeves were dripping and my hat wasn’t helping to keep me warm. Despite over 30,000 people participating in this race, the race directors did a fantastic job at ensuring there were enough porta potties. My only criticism of the race is that there weren’t enough water stations. My boss Aubrey ran the race and also mentioned the lack of drinking water on the course.

I wanted to see how fast I could run in this race. I think I could have run a bit faster but my legs felt a little shaky coming downhill. I didn’t really train on the downhills which I should of. But my splits were great:

Screen Shot 2016-03-16 at 10.47.35 AM

race_2101_photo_32410955

Just about to finish!

race_2101_photo_32411162

I put my hands up to say “I’m done! No more.”

I planned on walking over to OMSI to meet Andy who would pick me up. But because I ran the race so much faster than I thought, he hadn’t left the house when I texted him after finishing the race. That turned out to be okay because he was able to grab trashbags to protect the seat and towels to help dry me off.

IMG_2027

My pace (9:47) for the last half mile of the race was pretty amazing. Very proud.

It was so cold and rainy when I finished. I grabbed a chocolate milk and bottle of water and speedwalked across the Hawthorne Bridge. The wind really started blowing pretty hard which made my wet soggy hands so damn cold. Eventually I chucked the water in a bin because it was too cold to carry.

IMG_2028

Cold, wet, tired, and dehydrated but very happy with my performance.

After showering and eating, I spent the rest of the day napping and relaxing. It was  a great day and I cannot wait to run the race next year.

One response to “Shamrock 15k

  1. Congratulations!!!

Leave a Reply

