Chicks 50k Relay

Yesterday Amy, Jess and I ran the Portland Chicks 50k Relay. We called ourselves the Hell No Chicks. The weather couldn’t have been more perfect if we had planned it that way. The day started off chilly but sunny. The day slowly warmed up and was sunny. The leaves were turning and it was absolutely gorgeous.

The Hell No Chicks.

The Hell No Chicks

Amy is coming off an ankle injury so we made the decision to have her run the first leg and then be responsible for logistics.

I took the second, fourth and last legs while Jess took third and fifth legs. So Jess and I were only able to take an hour break at the most. This made the relay somewhat difficult for both of us. I ran my first leg really fast. Probably too fast but I wanted to see how hard I could push it and I knew that as the day went on I was going to get more and more tired.

My second leg

My second leg

My second leg was running on the same path I run several times a week. I saw a few people I knew including Laura while I was running my leg. While running, I definitely started feeling tired. I was so happy to see Jess and hand off the slap bracelet.

Between legs, I drank a Coke and ate some chips which made me feel a lot better. Going into my last leg, I was excited because I knew beer was at the end of this leg.

Last leg!

Last leg!

View from the Sellwood Bridge

View from the Sellwood Bridge

Willamette River as seen from the Sellwood River

Willamette River as seen from the Sellwood River

I had to run past my house and up the big hill. It was slow going. My legs were tired and I wanted to be done.

Amy greeted me with beer when I was finally done which was awesome.

Done!

Done!

One of the great things about the relay is that there are prizes. The first year I did the relay I won a pair of trail shoes! This year though, I won this:

Really?

Really?

Having run around Hagg Lake many times, I’m not sure if I want to do it again.

Enjoying a cider

Enjoying a cider

Leave a Reply

