Dog Mountain

I volunteered to help out at the Dog Mountain 10k race this morning. I helped stock the aid station which happened to be at the top of the mountain. Which meant we had to hike in the water and other supplies only 3k feet in the air. I don’t know if you have hiked with a gallon of water in a ridiculously large pack but it’s more difficult than it sounds.

It was a steep hike and my legs were somewhat tired from boot camp. But I got up at 3:30am and made it to the Dog Mountain Trailhead by 5:40am to help unload the truck, set up some cones, and hike up the mountain. Yassine, myself, and two other volunteers hiked up the 3 miles to the top of Dog Head. It was a gorgeous hike. Hard but gorgeous. But with views like this, the 5 hours of sleep seems like enough.

Dog_mountain

dog_mountain_2

The wind whipped through us as we began our summit and it was then I was happy I was a heavier person with a pack on. Truth be told, I am afraid of heights and the drop off mixed in with the wind freaked me out. I kept repeating to myself that no one (to the best of my knowledge) had ever been swept off this mountain. I tried to soften my knees and focus on the logo on the shoe ahead of me so I wouldn’t get dizzy. When I get high up, my heart races, palms sweat and I get dizzy and stupid. I want to conquer my fear of heights so I kept pressing on.

We unpacked all of our supplies once we summitted and stopped to have a snack. The hike had left us all very sweaty and once we stopped, we all starting shaking due to the cold wind. I needed to leave by 9am so I started the 3 mile descent shortly thereafter. It was awesome seeing the runners power up the hill. It was satisfying seeing some really great runners slowly making their way up the hill. I didn’t feel quite so slow and out of shape.

After the 3 mile steady incline, it felt odd to go downhill. My glutes were very sore after the summit and I was pretty excited to get back to my car. Especially as I was starting to get really hungry.

aleta_dog_mountain

I definitely want to go back to Dog Mountain and do the hike again.

3 responses to “Dog Mountain

  1. Nice hiking! It’s beautiful out there. And hiking up there with a gallon of water isn’t easy work. To my knowledge no one has been blown off Dog Mountain, but other mountains? Yes. 🙂

  2. Thank you so much for volunteering and hiking so early for us – racers – to have water and other good drinks at the top!
    You made the race happen and I really appreciate!

  3. Pingback: Dog Mountain Training Run | Chronicles of me and mine

Leave a Reply

