Baked Calamari Steaks

Last year I discovered how wonderful calamari steaks were. On Saturday I went to Fred Meyer and they had the steaks on sale again for $5.99 a pound. So I picked up almost a pound of them. This time I wanted to save calories and bake them. I searched the Internet for a good ten minutes looking for a good recipe to no avail. So I decided to just try it out.

I prepared the calamari steak the same way I did when I fried but I used one of my toaster oven broiler pans. I broiled each side of the steak for about 8 minutes. They were really thick. I broiled them until they were dark brown which may have been a bit too long. Better safe then sorry. I sauteed some asparagus and made up some greens (kale, spinach, onions, and mushrooms) and finished everything with a squeeze of lemon. Delicious!!

baked_calamari_steak

Leave a Reply

