Get to Bed Early!

For the last two months or so I’ve been off my normal sleep schedule. Maybe it was the change from traveling for work to staying home. Maybe it was the weather. I don’t know. But I’ve gotten so far off getting my 7-9 hours of sleep. I figured it out and I’ve been running on about 6 hours during the week and then cramming in 10 hours a night on the weekends. Sometimes sleeping as much as 12-13 hours on the weekend.

The sleeping in on the weekends has caused me to miss or be late for long runs because I’m not going to bed as early as I need to. I’m waking up at 10 or 11 in the morning. You can’t start your long run at 1pm and still fit in activities afterwards. During the week, I’m dragging. I get tried at around 10pm but then rather than go to sleep, I stay up until 11:30-midnight. Then try to get up at 6. So I told myself ‘don’t wake up so early on the week day’. But my body is hardwired to get up between 5:45-6:20am regardless of what time I went to bed.

Last night I went to bed at around 10pm and woke up at 6:10am and was out of bed ten minutes later. Today I feel much more rested. I need more sleep than the average person and with the extra running, I need about 9 hours of steady sleep a night. So my goal for the next few weeks is to go to bed at 10pm. This will be difficult with Sons of Anarchy starting at 10pm on Tuesday nights. What to do? What to do. Without the trusty DVR, I cannot record and watch later.. I’ll figure it out.

One response to “Get to Bed Early!

  1. I’m with you – I definitely need more sleep, rather than less, especially when I’m training hard. And I hate when my schedule gets “off” – it seems to screw up my whole day 🙂

Leave a Reply

