Trail Running

I tweeted that I was looking for someone to run 16-18 miles with on Sunday and asked if anyone wanted to join me. @dorothybitestoto replied that she was interested so over the next few days we made plans to run in at Hoyt Arboretum. The Arboretum is a beautiful place conveniently located in Washington Park and has gorgeous trails that you can hike, walk, or run. It’s shady and cool which makes it an ideal place to run in July.

I purposefully didn’t look too closely at the elevation change on the trails surrounding the Arboretum. I knew if I did, I might chicken out. Plus @dorothybitestoto is an ultra marathoner who is training for a 50 mile race in August. But as I found the previous week, having companionship on the long rules is truly beneficial for a variety of reasons:

1. You run faster and harder
2. The time goes by much quicker
3. The advice you receive from experienced runners is so valuable

Having run the Portland Marathon, @dorothybitestoto was able to explain some of the tricky places on the route such as the Saint John’s Bridge on mile 16. We traded stories about post run meals and discussed in detail toenails, IT Band injuries, and how training regimens affected our families. @dorothybitestoto didn’t make fun of me for having to walk the last couple (okay more than a couple) of hills.

After the 3+ hour run, I was sore in places I had never been sore before. My ankles and glutes were very tight and tender. My ankles were actually sore for two days. While running, I was bitten by what I initially believed to be a mosquito. It’s swollen up pretty good and reminds me of a spider bite but has a larger area of redness than any spider bite I’ve ever received. The swelling is going down but it is very tender to the touch. Even socks irritate the area. Next time I run trails, I will put on much thicker and taller socks.

One response to “Trail Running

  1. How about running 100 miles? I could use someone to talk too! LOL

Leave a Reply

