Early Morning Run

I got an invitation to run with several ladies early this morning. 6am early. I thought it would be a good idea to run with a few others for motivation and to run at a steady pace. So I gladly accepted.

I woke up at 4:30 this morning after a terrible night of sleep. I quickly chowed down a bit of food and headed out to West Linn where I was to meet my party. I ran with three ladies who were upon first observation in better shape than I was. (After running 15 miles, I conclude that they are in better shape than I am)

The three ladies are all accomplished athletes. Two of them have completed 70.3 Ironmans and the other completed several marathons along with other races. All three kept up a steady pace peppered with interesting conversation which helped us power up the lovely rolling rolls in West Linn and Lake Oswego.

It was fantastic to be home and done with my long run by 10am. It was even better to eat a burrito and get a nap in by 2pm. I have decided that I need to start running with others more frequently. Running with others helps me to run faster and keep me honest. Sometimes during my long run I stop to take a break – or two or three. Sometimes I walk. Although this is isn’t bad, it doesn’t help my pace and doesn’t help my overall fitness. So now I need to find some groups to run with.

Leave a Reply

