Vegetarian Pot Pie

I love pot pies. Who doesn’t? But I’ve never had one that doesn’t have chicken. I wanted to make one that was flavorful and rich with a variety of vegetables. So using the power of Google, I looked up ‘vegetarian pot pie recipes’. I used a few I found as a guide to create my own awesome recipe. I purchased Pillsbury ready made pie crust as I wanted to focus on the filling and now the crust.

I diced onions and leeks and sauteed them in a small knob of butter. I let them cook down for about ten minutes. I added parsnips, potatoes, and carrots to the mix. I lowered the temperature and added two tablespoons of flour creating an Aleta roux. I added a can of cream of mushroom soup and a cup of milk to the mixture stirring thoroughly. Salt, pepper, and cayenne were added to taste. I let this mixture bubble away while I unrolled the pie crust. One thing about the pie crust. If freeze it, give it ample time to defrost. After the potatoes had bubbled away for 15 minutes, I put the mixture on the pie crust and unrolled the top crust.

Voila!

Pot pie in the making

I let it bake for 20 minutes and upon taking it out of the oven, let it cool down.

Yum!

One response to “Vegetarian Pot Pie

Leave a Reply

