Shrimp Packets

Normally I don’t advocate tearing pages out of magazines found in doctors offices but while I was waiting for my visit I found a recipe that I just couldn’t help but tear out. It was for shrimp packets. Now I love shrimp and I dearly love the convenience of cooking in foil packets. I cooked up the recipe on a whim Sunday afternoon and it was absolutely delicious.

I like to use recipes as a guide (except in baking where I follow the instructions like they are law). I substitute what I have on hand and add seasonings that are more suited to Andy and my palates. This particular recipe called for cannellini beans. I had a can of white beans. I think they are the same thing as cannellini beans are a type of white bean. The recipe calls for sliced tomatoes, lemon juice, graded lemon rind, and veggie stock. To me that just seems way too much moisture. So I cut out the veggie stock. The recipe also suggested serving the shrimp packets with bread. Sounds good but I didn’t have enough bread to spare for this. I served the shrimp packets over rice. It was excellent.
Making Shrimp Packets
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
2. Tear off four sheets of aluminum foil
3. Clean up the shrimp (take off shells and tail)
4. Slice one large tomato into thick slices
5. Grade half of a lemon (about 1 tablespoon) and then squeeze all the juice out of it. Save juice
6. Slice some onions (recipe called for green but I used yellow)
7. Grab the Old Bay, pepper, and a little olive oil
8. Place half a cup (or so) of beans on foil
9. Top with some shrimp
10. Sprinkle with a little Old Bay
11. Place tomato slices on top of shrimp
12. Add the onion to your packet
13. Sprinkle a little olive oil, lemon juice, lemon rind, pepper, and so more Old Bay
14. Close up the packets but allow steam to vent out
15. Place all four packets on a baking sheet or other baking apparatus
16. Cook for 20 minutes or so. You want to make sure shrimp is done.
17. Enjoy!
Yummy

I placed rice in a bowl and dumped contents of shrimp packets on top- juice and all. I added a little pepper and thoroughly enjoyed the heck out of this super easy dish. I’m going to make this again tonight. But I’m going to add yellow pepper to the mix. Next time I might add broccoli. For a Mediterranean feel, add a little Parmesan cheese to the finished dishes. You could serve this over rice, fettuccine, angel hair pasta, or on top of garlic bread. And the best part is that clean up is super easy.

Leave a Reply

