Letter to My Younger Self

I’ve been concentrating on my other blog, school stuff, and an important project. Andy is stressing out that half of Spring Term is over. He has so many important projects to complete: hydrogen torch, poster for Microbiology, and a national test he has to take for chemistry. We’ve been so busy that we’ve both been going into school on Saturdays! Andy goes into open lab and I make use of the computer lab to complete my InDesign homework.

I’ve been trying to think up a good, positive blog post for all the loyal readers out there. I decided to write a letter to my younger self. Okay, okay I got the idea from watching two minutes of “Lake House” (before I turned the channel to something worth watching). I thought how interesting it would be if I could warp time and space and send a letter to the Aleta that is ten or even fifteen years younger. What would I say? Well, let’s take a look:

Dear My Younger Self,

Don’t freak out. This is a letter that is defying both time and space to give you important advice. Pay attention and focus. First off, that outline you created at age sixteen detailing what you would accomplish at certain stages of your life wasn’t too realistic. Take it out, laugh at it, and put it aside. You aren’t going to win the Nobel Peace Prize for Literature by age 24. I’m sorry. And that also goes for the Pulitzer too. Maybe at age forty or fifty.

Second of all, it doesn’t matter if your family understands you or not. They love you. That’s what is important. Get over all the petty injustices that your brother and sister put you through. It doesn’t matter. Remember that you aren’t the center of everyone’s universe and everyone is basically figuring this stuff out as they go along. Most people are just doing the best they can. Give ’em a break.

Learn all you can about different pieces of software and computers. It will come in handy when you get older especially the spreadsheets. Say you’re sorry when you mess up. Sometimes that’s all it takes to make amends. Don’t listen to all the naysayers. Follow the path that you are interested in. In the end, it’s your life.

Don’t spend all your cash on beer. Buy stock in companies like Exxon Mobile and ConocoPhillips but stay away from a company called Enron. It’s too good to be true. Go to more concerts (but wear some earplugs when you stand near the speakers!!) and remember that life is a marathon not a sprint. So be good to your knees!

There are tough times ahead of you but there’s a hot guy that you haven’t met yet. You’ll know him when you see him. Try to buy him a beer.

Try to get more sleep and quit smoking as soon as possible. It’s a nasty habit.

Yours,
Your Older Self

2 responses to “Letter to My Younger Self

  1. Don’t be so hard on yourself! I’m sure you made good decisions.

  2. I loved reading this.

    I stumbled on your blog because it was automatically generated from a post of mine. 🙂 I’m glad I clicked.

Leave a Reply

