Laid Off- Now What?

If you’re like many Americans who have recently been laid off, you might be thinking now what? I know I was. Here is my advice for those who suddenly find themselves with a lot more time on their hands.

Day one (the day of the lay-off):Tell everyone of your personal contacts that you are now exploring your options or open to new adventures however you want to word it. Give them no more than three different jobs you are looking for: event planning, social media, and marketing assistant. Send them copies of your resume. Next apply for unemployment.

Now go and lay down for awhile. Getting laid off is nerve wracking, stressful, and painful. Change into your comfort clothes, grab your blanky and lay down for awhile. You cannot make good decisions when you are in this state. I suggest taking a couple of hours to rest.

Now after you’ve had some time to rest and clear your head, call your mom or the person who always believes you are special and wonderful. (If you don’t have one of those, let me know. I have several and could loan you one.)Let them tell you how great you are. Don’t interrupt-it’s rude. Just sit and listen.

Fix yourself a nice meal or take one of your friends up on their offer for a meal out. Enjoy yourself. Eat some butter, have a second roll, or add sour cream to that potato. Your problem is still going to be there tomorrow. When I got laid off, my mom told me to wait until the next day to do anything. Her rational was that I wasn’t going to solve anything that night. She was right, of course.

So eat your icecream or drink your beer. Remember that it really is going to be okay. Really. Bad things happen to everyone and it’s how you deal with those situations that is really the true measure of your character.

I dedicate this blog post to my mom who is one of the most amazing people ever. No matter what happens to her or the people around her, she always has a plan. I think President Obama should give her a call. Seriously. I also need to thank all of the people in my life who have helped me through my ordeal. You know who you are. Thank you!

Tomorrow’s blog post: Day Two It’s Time To Get Busy So Get Out of Bed!!

Leave a Reply

