Aleta 2.0

Yesterday I got laid off. I don’t really know what to say about it. I consider myself lucky because I was fortunate enough to work with some really talented people. But my company was forced to lay off four people yesterday. As much as hurt me, I could tell that my boss and CEO were feeling it too. Yeah, I admit that I wanted to punish both of them for their decision. The ugly awful part of me wanted to completely break down shrieking how I had busted my hump for the company. But I couldn’t do it. I wanted to grab both of their hands and tell them it was going to be okay. Instead I think I just sat there smiling some creepy smile, nodding a lot. Truth be told, my heart was pounding so hard that I thought I was going to faint.

So after having a mini-meltdown which resulted in the sobbing phone call to my mother, I am okay. (Thanks Mom for the advice!)Although this isn’t how I wanted my employment to go down, I am grateful to my company for all of the cuts they made prior to laying any staff off. In order for the company to continue on, they had to make some hard decisions. However it does look like I will be lending a hand with the company’s upcoming tradeshow preparations. It’s going to be a challenge for Andy and me. But we’ve gone through much worse than this.

And let me tell you how awesome Andy is in times like this. He totally rocks. He’s supportive, funny, and an all around great guy. So now we’re looking at all the opportunities in front of us and exploring options. One of those options is moving away from Portland.

So now I am looking toward the future and not looking back. What’s happend has happened. This next chapter of my life is going to be called Aleta 2.0. It’ll be an upgrade!

Here’s what I did last night:
Laid Off!

Yep.Laid off!

2 responses to “Aleta 2.0

  1. Getting laid off was both a curse and a blessing for me in 2003, and in 2005. Both times led to major changes in my life which eventually made everything a hell of a lot better.

  2. Start: SAPPINESS ALERT

    Hugs!!!!!

    End: SAPPINESS ALERT

Leave a Reply

