Books I’ve read recently

In the beginning of December, I went to visit my family in New Mexico for a few days. My wonderful mother, sent me home with a few books as she usually does. Besides Eric Clapton’s biography, she sent me home with a few random books including the first of the Twilight books. Now I had no plans on reading Twilight as I had heard all of the teenage girls were reading it and I, being in my thirties, was much too intelligent to get involved in that sort of thing.

But of course, I picked it up and thirty pages later looked up and realized I was hooked. The next couple of weeks were a blur of frantically reading and Andy making fun of me in his dorky lisp voice. There was an emergency trip to Barnes & Nobles to purchase the third book. I was able to calm down and buy the fourth (and last book) from a great seller on Amazon.com.

One of my Twitter friends recommended another series of books House of Night. This series features a young woman who ends up becoming Marked as a vampyre and has to attend a school for young vampyre’s. I’m currently waiting on the fourth book. I’m not sure how many more there will be. My same Twitter friend (who is a librarian) also recommended Meg Cabot’s “Mediator” series. This set of books protagonist is a young woman named Suze who can see and communicate with the dead.

Do you see the disturbing pattern here? How can a woman of my education and fine upbringing like this subject matter? I’ve always been drawn to these types of stories. I remember reading Edgar Allen Poe before I really understood all of the themes and nuances and being absolutely fascinated with his work. I’ve endured a lot of ribbing from my family and now Andy, but I like the darker side of life. Especially when it comes in the form of juvenile fiction.

Leave a Reply

