Des Moines, IA

My work sent me to Des Moines, IA to demo our software application to end use customers. When I travel for work, it’s usually to train our business clients on how to use our software so this was a unique experience.
Sampling
For many years, I worked demoing and/or sampling products in stores, festivals, pubs, skateparks, radio events, etc. Not to toot my own horn but I’m pretty good at it. Sampling and demoing looks easy. I mean how hard is it to either show someone how to use something or give them a free product? Well, not everyone can do it. It take a lot of patience, quick wit, the ability to laugh at yourself often, and a desire to interact with the public. And last but not least: passion for what you are doing.

Personally I love to talk to people. I know, all of you are so surprised because I’m so shy. (For those of you who don’t know me, I’m not shy. Really.)I like to find out what they are doing, who they are, what they like, etc.

For this demo, I offered some fruit or nuts or even Kettle Chips newest baked chips. While you are grabbing the toothpick, I ask if you’ve had an opportunity to use the Fresh Ideas Center (see the kiosk beside me?) I then proceed to show you how to use it to find a recipe or choose a great bottle of wine.

Why do I do it? Well, besides the fact that its my job, I do it because I believe in our product. How many times have you gone to the grocery store and not known what you were going to make for dinner? Well, these handy (and might I say conveniently located) kiosks have hundreds of recipes on them.

Have you ever gotten a prescription at your grocery store and wondered if your St. Johns Wort interacted with the new medicine? Well, these kiosks have side effects and interaction information on them. Have you ever purchased produce that was on sale but had no idea what to do with it? Once again, these kiosks have information on buying, storing, and preparing all sorts of produce. You can even access recipes that use that produce.

So if you see one of these kiosks in the store, use it. Print out a recipe. Look up a health condition. Find out about some new produce you’ve been wanting to try.

One response to “Des Moines, IA

  1. Now that is pretty cool!

Leave a Reply

