No Dough!

Usually at 7:15 in the morning, I am on the #4 bus headed to work. But this morning I had an appointment to get an ultrasound on my knee.

Dr's Office ahead!

Dr's Office ahead!


Dr. Pham thought I might have a Baker’s cyst (please note: it isn’t filled with cookie dough or pie crust. I asked). According to Wikipedia:

A Baker’s cyst, otherwise known as a popliteal cyst, is a benign swelling found behind the knee joint. It is named after the surgeon who first described it, Dr. William Morrant Baker (1838-1896) n adults, Baker’s cysts usually arise from almost any form of knee arthritis and cartilage (particularly the meniscus) tear. Baker’s cysts can be associated with Lyme disease. Baker’s cysts in children do not point to underlying joint disease. Baker’s cysts arise between the tendons of the medial head of the gastrocnemius and the semimembranosus muscles. They are posterior to the medial femoral condyle.

The synovial sack of the knee joint can, under certain circumstances, produce a posterior bulge, into the popliteal space, the space behind the knee. When this bulge becomes large enough, it becomes palpable and cystic. Most Baker’s cysts maintain this direct communication with the synovial cavity of the knee, but sometimes, the new cyst pinches off. A Baker’s cyst can rupture and produce acute pain behind the knee and in the calf and swelling of the calf muscles.

Ultrasound Room

Ultrasound Room

Both myself and the ultrasound technician agreed that based on the image we saw on the very cool computer screen, it’s not a cyst. It was actually pretty cool to see your knee on a monitor. The technician said that these type of cysts come on slowly and based on the information I provided her, it didn’t sound like that’s what it was. Now, I don’t know if she’s allowed to give out that type of information so I’m not saying who she is or where she works. The next step looks like an MRI. I’m not sure if I want one though. I have a feeling they are pretty spendy.

Me @ my visit

Me @ my visit

One response to “No Dough!

  1. The ultrasound technician and I agree, you seem a little to happy to get your knee examined 🙂

Leave a Reply

