First swim in the Pacific Ocean!

Here's another gorgeous photo of the beach

Another Beautiful Beach

Umeke Market's veggie burger
Umeke Market
Me on the beach before my first dip in the Pacific Ocean.
Me on the beach before my first dip in the Pacific Ocean.
What better way to say welcome than a scary sign.
What better way to say welcome than a scary sign.

So after working today, I drove away from Honolulu to try to find a nice peaceful area to have my first experience swimming in the Pacific Ocean.   The beach that I thought would be all right…didn’t allow swimming due to a strong current.<what do I know-I’m from New Mexico> The next beach I came to allowed swimming but it freaked me out that the first sign I see warns me of Porteguese Man-o-War.  Ahhh.  The next beach also allows swimming but has a really strong current.  <not for me>  I end up turning around and heading back to Honolulu only to find that my brand new GPS Garmin has gone dead.   i don’t think the portal I was plugged into works. I tried turning off the rental PT Cruiser, turning back on, etc.  But to no avail.  Shucks! I do love that GPS.  I was able to find one more beach but there was yet another warning of a strong tide.  Andy recommended asking the hotel staff.  So I went that route.  Turns out there is a beautiful beach two blocks away from the hotel.  So….I took the plunge.  Swimming in the Pacific Ocean was everything I thought it would be and more!!!  It was awesome.  Tomorrow, I’m going back for more.  I don’t know if I’ll have time to visit Pearl Harbor and all the other things I want to do.  But I’m going to try!!

Aleta at the beach

Aleta at the beach!

Leave a Reply

